ArcGIS for Desktop Single Use

Deauthorizing Your License

Deauthorizing your ArcGIS for Desktop License

Esri UK Technical Support have put this guide together to help you successfully deauthorize your ArcGIS for Desktop Single Use License. This will allow you to transfer the license from one machine to another without exceeding the maximum number of authorizations available.


  1. Open the ArcGIS Administrator by going to All Programs > ArcGIS > ArcGIS Administrator.

  2. With the ArcGIS Administrator open, click on the Support Operations folder within the folder-tree. Click Deauthorize.

    Note: Ensure that all ArcGIS software is closed before starting the deauthorization process.

If you have a connection to the internet on the machine which holds the license please see the Online Deauthorization section. If the machine is not connected to the internet then please see the Offline Deauthorization section.


Online deauthorization

  1. The Software Authorization Wizard screen opens. Select Deauthorize now with Esri using the Internet. Click Next.

  2. The Deauthorization Options screen opens. Select the licences you would like to deauthorize. Click Next to deauthorize them.

  3. The Deauthorization Complete screen shows that you have successfully deauthorized. Click Finish.


Offline Deauthorization

  1. The Software Authorization Wizard screen opens. Select Deauthorize at Esri’s website or by email to receive your deauthorization file. Click Next.

  2. The Deauthorization Options screen opens. Select the licenses you would like to deauthorize. Click Next to deauthorize them.

  3. The Email Deauthorization screen displays. Click Save and specify the desired location to save your deauthorize.txt file to. This will enable the Finish button.

  4. As per the instructions on the Email Deauthorization screen, you should now move this file to a machine which has an internet connection to either:

    1. Upload the deauthorize.txt file to the Secure Site Operations section of My Esri (you may be prompted to login to My Esri using your username and password).

      • Select Choose File, and browse to the deauthorize.txt file and click Open. Click Upload.

      • The file will process and you will be prompted to download the license file to your local machine. Click Download License File.

      • Click Save and specify the desired location to save your deauthorization.respc file to. Click Save.

      • If necessary move the deauthorization.respc file back to the machine which holds the license.

    2. Email the deauthorize.txt file to authorize@esri.com using your preferred email client.

      Tip: This is an automated service, so you do not need to include a subject or any information in the email.

      • When the response email is received (typically within 2 minutes), save the attached deauthorization.respc file to the desired location.

      • If necessary move the deauthorization.respc file back to the machine which holds the license.

  5. Browse to the deauthorization.respc file and double-click it. The Deauthorization Method screen will open and will pre-select the I have received a deauthorization file from Esri and am now ready to finish the deauthorization process. It will also have populated the field with the path to the deauthorization.respc file. Click Next.

  6. The Deauthorization Complete screen displays with a list of features that have been deauthorised. Click Finish.

Contact Us | Cookies | Privacy | Legal | Slavery/Human Trafficking Statement